Whiteboard animation software pricing in 2026: free plans, one-time licences and the cheapest
By Deniffer AlanPublished
TL;DR Whiteboard animation software is free to try, and the cheapest paid plans run from $9 to $99 a month in 2026; the same plan is usually far cheaper billed yearly. On 30 October 2026 the cheapest watermark-free first year was SpeedPaint at $47.88 (yearly) for drawing your own pictures, and Mango Animate at $59 paid once for a whole-video editor (720p). VideoScribe starts at $150 a year, Powtoon at $180, Animaker at $300 and Vyond at $699. Free plans, all watermarked: Powtoon, Animaker, Mango Animate, Scribe Animator, Golpo AI (one video, no download) and ours (5 free credits); Canva gives free users one SpeedPaint credit. Pay once: Mango Animate ($59 or $199, perpetual), Explaindio ($497), a Doodly offer page ($67), our credit packs ($10 for 20 drawings) and Golpo AI’s pay-as-you-go credits. Every price below was read on each tool’s own pricing page that day.
Whiteboard animation software pricing in 2026
US prices as each tool’s own pricing page showed them on 30 October 2026. “Not stated” means its pages do not say. What each tool does, and who it suits, is in the software comparison.
| Tool | Cheapest plan, billed monthly | Billed yearly | Pay once | Free plan or trial | Largest export |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VideoScribe | Lite $35/month | Lite $150/year ($12.50/month); Core $255, Max $320 | No: subscriptions only | 7-day trial, no card: 3 downloads, up to 5 min, watermarked | 1080p MP4 |
| Doodly | Standard $49/month | $490/year | $67 once, on a separate offer page | 14-day trial | 1080p, up to 60 fps |
| Vyond | Starter $99/month | $699/year ($58/month) | No | Free trial: 3 videos, watermarked, no downloads | 1080p MP4 |
| Animaker | Starter $45/month | $300/year ($25/month) | No | Free plan: 3 downloads a month, watermarked | 2K (4K on Enterprise) |
| Powtoon | Lite $49/month | $180/year ($15/month) | No | Free plan: 720p, up to 3 min, watermarked | 1080p MP4 |
| InstaDoodle | Standard $47/month | Not stated | No | None; 60-day money-back guarantee | 1080p; 2K and 4K on Pro ($67/month) |
| Mango Animate (Whiteboard Animation Maker) | — | — | Professional $59, Enterprise $199, perpetual | Free version: 576p, watermarked | 720p on Professional; up to 4K on Enterprise |
| Explaindio | $37/month | $67/year | $497 | Not stated; 30-day money-back guarantee | Not stated |
| Renderforest | Not stated | Lite $9/month billed yearly | No | Test credits to start | 720p on Lite; 1080p on Pro; 4K on Business |
| Canva (SpeedPaint app) | Not stated | Canva Pro $144/year | Not stated; more SpeedPaint credits are bought in the app | Free Canva users get one free SpeedPaint credit | MP4 (resolution not stated) |
| SpeedPaint (speedpaint.co) | Basic $9.99/month | Standard $3.99/month billed yearly | No | No free plan on its pricing page | 1920 × 1080 |
| Golpo AI | Starter $39.99/month | $23.99/month, $287.93 billed yearly | Pay-as-you-go credits, $3.99–$7.99 per minute of video | One 1-minute video, watermarked, cannot be downloaded | Not stated; colour from Growth ($199.99/month) |
| Scribe Animator | Pro $9/month | Not stated | No | Free, no sign-up: unlimited 720p exports, watermarked | 1080p |
| WhiteboardAnimation.ai (ours) | Starter $15/month | $144/year ($12/month) | Credit packs: 20 drawings for $10 | 5 free credits after sign-up: 720p, watermarked | 1080p; transparent and layered export on Pro |
Prices change often: Animaker’s plans and SpeedPaint’s yearly option changed between 27 and 30 October 2026. Check the pricing page in the sources before you buy.
What one video, and one year, actually cost
A plan price says little until you put it against what you make. Two sums, both on the prices above, for the cheapest option that exports without a watermark.
| Tool | Cheapest way | Cost | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scribe Animator | Pro, one month | $9 | You build every scene yourself in its editor |
| SpeedPaint | Basic, one month | $9.99 | Draws your own pictures only; Basic is black-and-white, one hand, up to 15 s of sketch and 15 s of colour per clip, so 60 seconds is several clips |
| WhiteboardAnimation.ai | 20-credit pack, no subscription | $10 | Draws your own pictures only, one credit each: six pictures at 10 seconds each use 6 of the 20 credits; you add voice and music in your own editor |
| VideoScribe | Lite, one month | $35 | Lite still watermarks premium images; Core, $60 a month, has no watermark at all |
| Explaindio | One month | $37 | Its page does not state the export resolution or a watermark |
| Golpo AI | Pay as you go: 5 credits × $7.99 | $39.95 | 1 credit = 1 minute; 5 is the smallest order its price table lists |
| Animaker | Starter, one month | $45 | 10 premium downloads a month, 1080p |
| InstaDoodle | Standard, one month | $47 | No trial, but a 60-day money-back guarantee |
| Doodly | Standard, one month | $49 | Or $67 once through its offer page |
| Powtoon | Lite, one month | $49 | 5 watermark-free exports a month |
| Mango Animate | Professional, paid once | $59 | 720p; 1080p and above needs Enterprise, $199 |
| Vyond | Starter, one month | $99 | The free trial cannot download at all |
| Renderforest | Lite, billed yearly | $108 | $9 × 12; its monthly price is not stated on the yearly view, and Lite exports 720p |
| Tool | Plan | First year | The sum |
|---|---|---|---|
| SpeedPaint | Standard, yearly | $47.88 | $3.99 × 12 (Basic monthly: $9.99 × 12 = $119.88) |
| Mango Animate | Professional, perpetual | $59 | Paid once; nothing in year two |
| Doodly | Standard via its offer page | $67 | Paid once (the regular plan: $490 a year, or $49 × 12 = $588) |
| Explaindio | Yearly | $67 | Its monthly plan: $37 × 12 = $444 |
| Scribe Animator | Pro | $108 | $9 × 12; no yearly price stated |
| Renderforest | Lite, yearly | $108 | $9 × 12, billed at once; 720p (Pro, 1080p: $13.30 × 12 = $159.60 in the first year) |
| WhiteboardAnimation.ai | Starter, yearly | $144 | $12 × 12 for 600 drawings (monthly: $15 × 12 = $180) |
| VideoScribe | Lite, yearly | $150 | Billed annually ($35 × 12 = $420 monthly); Core, no watermark at all: $255 |
| Powtoon | Lite, yearly | $180 | $15 × 12 ($49 × 12 = $588 monthly) |
| Golpo AI | Starter, yearly | $287.93 | Billed annually ($39.99 × 12 = $479.88 monthly); 20 minutes of video a month, black and white |
| Animaker | Starter, yearly | $300 | $25 × 12 ($45 × 12 = $540 monthly) |
| InstaDoodle | Standard | $564 | $47 × 12; no yearly price stated |
| Vyond | Starter, yearly | $699 | Billed annually ($99 × 12 = $1,188 monthly) |
The two tables are not a ranking. A $9.99 drawing clip and a $99 Vyond video are different things: the first draws a picture you already have, the second builds animated characters, scenes and voice-over. Pick the kind of tool first (the three kinds), then compare price inside it.
Which whiteboard animation tools have a free plan
Seven have a free plan or free credits that do not turn into a bill; three more have a time-limited trial. Every free option we found adds a watermark, limits downloads, or both.
| Tool | Free option | Limits | Watermark |
|---|---|---|---|
| Powtoon | Free plan | 720p, up to 3 minutes | Yes |
| Animaker | Free plan | 3 downloads a month | Yes |
| Mango Animate | Free version, desktop download | 576p, limited hands and templates | Yes |
| Scribe Animator | Free, no sign-up | Unlimited exports up to 720p | Yes |
| WhiteboardAnimation.ai | 5 free credits after sign-up | 5 drawings, 720p; free drawings stay in your library 7 days | Yes |
| Canva (SpeedPaint app) | One free SpeedPaint credit for free Canva users | One drawing; more credits are bought in the app | Not stated |
| Golpo AI | One free video, no card | 1 minute, cannot be downloaded | Yes |
| VideoScribe | 7-day trial, no card | 3 downloads, up to 5 minutes | Yes |
| Doodly | 14-day trial | Its checkout took a card and billed $49 a month after the trial when we signed up on 27 October 2026 | None on our trial export |
| Vyond | Free trial | Up to 3 videos, no downloads | Yes |
| InstaDoodle, SpeedPaint, Explaindio | None stated | InstaDoodle and Explaindio offer money-back guarantees instead (60 and 30 days) | — |
Free with no watermark is rare: none of the free plans above exports without one. The Doodly trial did not watermark our export, but it is a paid subscription after 14 days. The cheapest way to drop the watermark on ours is one credit pack, $10 for 20 drawings, with no subscription.
Pay once instead of a subscription
Most whiteboard animation software renews monthly or yearly. Five tools showed a way to pay once on 30 October 2026.
Mango Animate: $59 or $199, perpetual
Its Whiteboard Animation Maker store page sells Professional (720p, no watermark) for $59 and Enterprise (1080p, 2K or 4K) for $199, each marked “Perpetual”, with $99 and $299 shown struck through. Its FAQ: “It’s a one-time payment, you get lifetime access to the software.” A desktop download.
Explaindio: $497 once
A video creator with doodle sketch images, sold as $37 a month, $67 a year, or $497 once (with $697 struck through), and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Doodly: $67 once, on an offer page
Doodly’s pricing page lists monthly and yearly plans only, but its separate offer page sold Doodly Standard for “1-Payment of $67”, “No Monthly Fees Forever”, “Free Software Updates for Life”, marked “Today ONLY”. Check it is still live before you count on it.
WhiteboardAnimation.ai: credit packs
20 drawings for $10, 60 for $25, 150 for $50, with no subscription and nothing that renews. Pack credits last 90 days; any pack removes the watermark and unlocks 1080p for good.
Golpo AI: pay-as-you-go credits
1 credit is 1 minute of generated video: $7.99 each for 5–19 credits, $5.99 for 20–99, $3.99 for 100 or more, with no subscription.
No one-time option: VideoScribe (its help says both terms are automatically recurring payments, and updates come for the length of the subscription), Vyond, Powtoon, Animaker, InstaDoodle, SpeedPaint, Renderforest and Scribe Animator. A perpetual licence is not the same as free updates forever: Mango Animate’s page does not say how long updates last, and Doodly’s offer page promises them “for life”.
The cheapest that still looks professional
Professional here means two things you can check: no watermark and at least 1080p. On the first-year sums above, the cheapest that clear both, by kind.
Drawing your own pictures: SpeedPaint or ours
SpeedPaint Standard is $47.88 for a year of unlimited 1920 × 1080 clips. Ours is $10 for 20 drawings with no subscription, or $144 a year for 600, and lets you re-time a drawing and change the hand after it is drawn. Both draw a picture you already have; neither builds scenes or voice-over.
A whole-video editor: Doodly’s offer, then Scribe Animator
Doodly’s $67 one-payment offer exports up to 1080p with no watermark, but is sold as “today only”. Scribe Animator Pro is $9 a month for 1080p without a watermark. Mango Animate at $59 is cheaper still but exports 720p; its 1080p Enterprise licence is $199 once.
Templates and characters: Powtoon or Animaker
Powtoon Lite is $180 a year for 1080p, but only 5 watermark-free exports a month. Animaker Starter is $300 a year for 10 downloads a month at 1080p.
A narrated video from a document: Golpo AI
Starter is $287.93 a year for 20 minutes of video a month, in black and white; colour starts on Growth at $199.99 a month.
Cheaper alternatives to VideoScribe
VideoScribe Lite is $150 a year or $35 a month, and still watermarks premium images; Core, with no watermark, is $255 a year. Cheaper in the first year, on 30 October 2026:
- Whole-video editors like VideoScribe: Mango Animate ($59 once, 720p; $199 for 1080p), Doodly’s offer page ($67 once), Explaindio ($67 a year) and Scribe Animator ($9 a month, $108 a year). Doodly vs VideoScribe compares the two closest.
- Drawing a picture you already have: SpeedPaint ($47.88 a year) and ours ($10 for 20 drawings, or $144 a year). VideoScribe reveals a PNG or JPEG with a diagonal wipe and needs SVG artwork to draw it stroke by stroke; both of these draw the picture itself. Our VideoScribe comparison runs the same picture through VideoScribe and ours.
- Not cheaper: Animaker ($300 a year), Golpo AI ($287.93), InstaDoodle ($47 a month) and Vyond ($699 a year) cost more than VideoScribe Lite; Powtoon Lite ($180 a year) costs more than Lite but less than Core.
Same picture, side by side: Doodly alternative, SpeedPaint alternative and Golpo AI alternative.
What WhiteboardAnimation.ai costs, and what you get
We make WhiteboardAnimation.ai, so here are its numbers in full, and what it does not do.
- Free: 5 credits after sign-up; one credit draws one picture. Exports are 720p with a watermark, and free drawings leave your library 7 days after you last work on them.
- Starter: $15 a month, or $144 a year ($12 a month): 50 credits a month, 1080p, no watermark.
- Pro: $39 a month, or $348 a year ($29 a month): 200 credits a month, transparent and layered export, and a commercial licence.
- Credit packs, no subscription: 20 credits for $10, 60 for $25, 150 for $50, valid 90 days. Any pack removes the watermark and unlocks 1080p for good.
- Exporting is free: re-time the drawing, change the hand or the colour order and export again without spending a credit.
| Example | As drawn | Line art |
|---|---|---|
| The water cycle | 1:03 | 0:21 |
| A simple circuit | 0:47 | 0:07 |
| Marketing funnel | 0:51 | 0:18 |
What it does not do: no scenes, text, voice-over, music or image library, and no picture from a text prompt: you bring a finished picture (how to prepare one) and finish the video in your own editor. Full details on the pricing page; to draw from Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor, see MCP.
How we read the prices
Official pages, one day
Every price, free plan and watermark statement comes from the tool’s own pricing page, FAQ or help centre, read on 30 October 2026 in US dollars. The sources below link each one.
Monthly and yearly
Where a page has a monthly and a yearly switch, we read both. Where it shows only one, the other is “not stated”.
Our own sums
The cost tables are arithmetic on those prices, with the sum written out. They leave out taxes, coupons and add-ons.
Our own trials
The Doodly card and watermark details are from our sign-up and export on 27 October 2026, for the Doodly comparison.
Sources
Each tool’s own pages, read on the day given (US prices).
- VideoScribe pricing (monthly and annual, free trial) · read 2026-10-30
- VideoScribe help: subscriptions (recurring payments) · read 2026-10-30
- Doodly pricing · read 2026-10-30
- Doodly homepage (14-day free trial) · read 2026-10-30
- Doodly offer page ($67, one payment) · read 2026-10-30
- Vyond pricing · read 2026-10-30
- Vyond help: free trials · read 2026-10-30
- Animaker pricing (plans, free plan, export quality) · read 2026-10-30
- Powtoon pricing · read 2026-10-30
- InstaDoodle (plans, FAQ, money-back guarantee) · read 2026-10-30
- Mango Animate Whiteboard Animation Maker store (one-time price) · read 2026-10-30
- Explaindio (monthly, annual and one-time prices) · read 2026-10-30
- Renderforest pricing · read 2026-10-30
- Canva whiteboard animation (SpeedPaint app, free credit) · read 2026-10-30
- Canva pricing · read 2026-10-30
- SpeedPaint pricing (monthly and yearly) · read 2026-10-30
- Golpo AI pricing (plans, annual, pay as you go) · read 2026-10-30
- Scribe Animator pricing · read 2026-10-30
- WhiteboardAnimation.ai pricing · read 2026-10-30
FAQ


